>My therapy

>Heyyy,

How’s your weekend going?? DC is snowed in today! So that means I’ve been able watch the What Not To Wear marathon- guilt free! Note: I love the term Cost Per Wear (aka CPW), brilliant!

The bad news….I still don’t have my computer back (booo) so I’m on the roomie’s for the next couple of days…Thanks again Jess! 😉

So in the last week or so I’ve been thinking a lot about new things I can find/do to relax. Usually, I always look to running. However, it wasn’t until I tore a muscle running a marathon a few years ago that I learned firsthand how dangerous it can be to only have one stress outlet, because if it’s takeaway what do you turn to???

Right now I’m (knock on wood) injury-free so the running thing is working, but I am still working on incorporating new ideas into my life. When I moved to this apartment I decided to decorate my room in soothing/peaceful colors and items. I have a few particular items that I turn to in times of distress:

Favorite teen classics:


Favorite childhood movie. Also, random fact: anyone who really knows me, I was a whale/dolphin in another lifetime. I am completely fascinated by them.


Therapeutic aromas (my favorites are jasmine and eucalyptus.):


Pictures of really important people in my life that I don’t see everyday:


And the image I wake up to every morning:

^^To me it says, today is a new day and a new chance to follow your dreams. Cheeseball maybe but it works for me 🙂


What do you do???
Have you ever turned to something but couldn’t depend on it (i.e. me not being able to run)? If so, what did you do???

Have a great rest of your weekend!
Lauren

8 thoughts on “>My therapy

  1. >Love that last picture!And yes I can so relate. When i was first injured, I had a serious breakdown simply because I could not run and I had no other way to relieve my stress/emotions. Running was my outlet, period. And it still will be when I can run again. BUT I've found other things, like journaling and blogging, that also work and that I really enjoy.

  2. >That is such a great idea, the way that you have decorated. When I get home, I need to do that too!! As we know, I have stress issues, and I take classes AND run. Every day! It's my hour where I don't have to think. 🙂 I ran today but it was only 9 degrees out, just way too cold for me. Tomorrow I'm going to take it inside 😉

  3. >@Jessica @ The Process of Healing Thanks! I love it. I can totally relate to the breakdown when you were first injured. Any emotion I experienced (joy, anger, sadness, anxiety) would make me want to run…ironic how that sounds, btw. I would never wish injury on anyone but now that I've overcome my injury I can look back and see that it was a very good experience to go through as it taught me a lot about myself. You will be able to run again and when you do you can blog about it since you picked up that hobby while injured! I really believe that everything happens for a reason and in the future when you look back, it will all make sense.Oh, and great idea about journaling. I think I could really benefit from that!

  4. >What a good question you asked! Working out is how I got through college successfully because it was the time during the day when I could zone out, listen to music, and just focus on me and not school and obligations. I've been really fortunate to not have injuries. I have two other things that I love to do if working out isn't an option: Read trash magazines and clean with lots of music playing. I love living alone because I can put on some music and get to work on scrubbing the tub…haha! I really liked that question!

  5. >@S Enman hahaha! We are so alike! I love trash mags and Perez! The cleaning idea is great. I like to blast Lady Antebellum (love her!) when I'm feeling ick. But the music/cleaning productivity is awesome!

Leave a comment