>Will run for wine

>Hellooooo,

How was your weekend??? I had the laaaaaziest yet most productive weekend everrrrr…..Lazy as in I slept til at least til 1pm each day the watched tons of TV. And productive as in I went grocery shopping, lab each day, did a good core workout, and ran a 15-miler today! Wooooop.

Here are some eats from the weekend:

^Diced honey crisp apple, diced nanner, Kashi go lean, coconut Kefir, cinnamon, stevia

LOVE this new find:
^Any other recipe suggestions for this???

Green monster:

^My recipe is featured on the Green Monster website!

Tuna salad:
^Tuna, 2 tbsp. red-fat mayo (made w/ EVOO), diced yellow onion, diced celery, diced pickles, dill, parsley, pepper, dash sea salt.

Margarita pizza:

^Could have done with 9/10 less cheese. But still dece.

Shriaz (Peter Lehmann):

^Soooooo good. And affordable!

Organic “Oreos”:

^How is that even possible???? Lol.

Fiiiiinally tried this gem:

WOW.

It paired nicely with this guy:

^Cinn Raisin swirl PB + nanner

And tonight’s dinnah (best eats all weekend):


^Baked then broiled sweet potato topped with 1/2 cup Amy’s Low-fat Black bean chili, diced avocado, salsa, and dollop FF Greek Yogurt. I am making this again ASAP. Such a great post-run dish!

Speaking of run, it was soooooo nice today (even ran in ma tank top!) the entire city of DC seemed to be exercising…either running or rollerblading, cycling, walking, boating, etc! And of course I have some pics from my 15-miler šŸ˜‰
Active peeps:

^Not sure what this is called but it looks neat!


^Flag football, kickball, soft ball games everywhere

^Beach volleyball. Seeeee Seth, just like LA! ha

Aaaaaand some scenic pics….

Watergate:

Georgetown waterfront:

View from Arlington, VA looking at Lincoln/Washington Monument:

And my shirt of choice:

^I think it sums me up pretty well, don’t ya think???

Well I’m off, considering its past 8pm and I’m still in lab…I better head home.

QUESTIONS:

1. Does living in an active city make you more active??

2. What should I do with my new coconut kefir?

3. What are some food ‘gems’ you wanna share with me??? šŸ˜‰

Have a great night!!!!

xx

Lauren

24 thoughts on “>Will run for wine

  1. >I don't know if living in an active city makes you more active, but it definitely makes you feel safer, more secure, and not like you stick out as the only person out running around. I used to HATE running in my hometown because nobody ever was out, but in my new town and in the college town I was in I felt/feel better about doing it. I guess when you run around a small town you feel like everyone watches. It's nice to blend in, which is easy to do in an active city.

  2. >Love the shirt. I think seeing other people out and about does draw people from inside, which is great!Been eyeing that coconut kefir since I LOVE anything with coconut meat or milk (not coconut water, though, blech!) Along the lines of coconut, if you haven't tried Artisana's coconut butter or any kind of coconut milk ice cream (Coconut Bliss is local for me) you need to ASAP. Seriously.The coconut butter goes well with practically anything (i.e. cereal, yogurt, fruit, veggies) and I'll usually take a few bites straight out of the jar because it's that good. And the coconut milk ice cream… no words. So rich and creamy! Yum. I'm going to have to get myself a bowl now…

  3. >OMG girl, I WANT that shirt!! Ha. Congrats on the 15 miler! Wow! The most that I ran was 10 miles and I actually loved it.I cannot WAIT to get my mileage back up after I am running again. I want to run a marathon one day, wanna join me šŸ˜‰ ?So funny that we both just discovered coconut kefir. I love how you used it! I'm only beginning to figure it out myself so I'll be looking forward to reading these comments. The only way I have tried it so far is with a microwaved apple and granola but it was good! And I have to reiterate what Sarah said, So Delicious Coconut Milk ice cream is AMAZING!!! Especially the ice cream sandwiches with chocolate cookie and coconut ice cream filling, the bomb! And sweet potatoes and chili is sooooo good!!! Try topping sweet potatoes with maple baked beans…. OMG. It's like… food heaven. I don't really live in an active city. I live in the suburbs of Spartanburg… not that active.Have a great week girlie!

  4. >Great shirt! My city is active which helps I think – we have healthy options and tons of veggie meals available, and we also have great places to run! We are lacking in affordable gyms, though.

  5. >aww gorgeous pics!! LOVE the sunnnny! baked sweet potatoes+Amy's chili sounds soooo yummm! I've been topping my sweet po's with hot salsa…so deeelicious! loveee your wine running shirt! my motto is Will Run For Sun! haha if the weather is nice I am out in it! I hope you have a great monday! xoxo!

  6. >I want to try coconut kefir so bad! I can't wait to see what you come up with for recipes! Cinnamon Raisin Swirl is the bomb, I agree. Little tip: all the raisins sink to the bottom, so stir it up every time if you wanna get some of them in every serving! What a gorgeous day in DC! I almost went to Georgetown, and every time I see pictures of the gorgeous campus part of me wishes I did. Have a great week girl!

  7. >15 miles is indeed a very productive weekend. I am very jealous of your active city! I am pretty sure walking is a crime in Houston. People will get in their cars to drive 4 blocks, no joke. I grew up in a college town where there were always people outside, so I miss it!

  8. >Congrats on that run, girlie! Your food looks delish! I love looking at the photo's of the water…thank you! Glad you had a fun weekend and I love finding goodies that you want to try!xoxo

  9. >Lovin' that sweet potato action!My recent food obsession as of late has been custard oatmeal (oatmeal with one egg whisked in as it cooks). It's the most decadent way to enjoy a bowl of oats.

  10. >living in a more active city DEFINITELY helps, but i would say the weather is what really determines it for me! when i lived in dallas i wasn't very active because it was SO HOT all the time. but since we've lived in colorado the weather is so much nicer, and we always want to be outside!

  11. >That shirt is amazing Lauren. I think a "Will Run for Wine" movement should be created – especially if Mr. Lehman is the vino of choice, love that Shiraz!I think you should try a "Coconut Chia" recipe with your new Kefir find. Maybe try 1/4c. Chia Seeds with 3/4c. Kefir and mix in some cinnamon, maca and agave to taste. Let gel overnight & add some sliced naner in the AM….?

  12. >Everything looked so good! YUMMY! I love that you're in a city where everyone is so active and there's so much to look at when you are running. I got nothing but houses šŸ˜‰ Wouldn't make for very interesting pictures. 15 miles? You rocked that run! Whoo-hoo!!! I did almost 5 the other day and was in pain! Have a great day xoxo

  13. >I absolutely love any peanut butter by Peanut Butter & Co… glad you got around to trying it! I am a medical student… so I like the biochemista title… and I love your blog! I'm adding you to my blogroll!

Leave a comment