>To splurge or not to splurge

>Hi Y’ALLLLLLLLL!!!!! How are you? I hope you had a fantastic couple of days. I spent the last couple in Myrtle Beach and left for the DC this morning.

I will miss you.

How do you eat when your on vacation? Do you stick to a diet or splurge on food and drinks? Do you exercise every day or not at all?
I used to go all out and really ‘live it up’, having whatever I wanted allll week long. Inevitably however, it always left me with a stomach ache. My bod is pretty used to all of the greans, fiber, veggies, and when I go all-out with pure carbs and sugary drinks – it leaves me in pretty rough shape.
The last few vacations however, I haven’t gone quite overboard. I’ve done the following instead:
– Kept at least 2 meals a day on the healthy-side (more veggies, fruits, whole grains the better)
– Splurged on 1 meal/item per day. Went for local favorites and not dishes I can order any time at home
– Had 1 sugary drink per day (pina colada, strawberry daiquiri, margarita). Sipped wine spritzers or clear liquors/soda/juice instead (light beer if your a beer drinker)
– Drink lots of H20. Have a water in between drinks and especially in hot weather
THIS WEEK I had lots of fruit:
And fruit plates:

Visited a local fruit & veggie stand:


Sipped refreshing white wine spritzers:

1/2 white wine, 1/2 soda water, ice source
Had a Protein & Fruit smoothie for breakfast on many days:

Yes, I packed my SunWarrior 😉
Splurged on Bailey’s on ice:

So. worth. it.
Tasted local food:

And still ate my veggies:

And how did I do???? Well no complaints in the stomach department all week! I woke early this morning for a farewell run on the beach then we headed out for our 6 hr trek to DC. On the way we passed several beautiful farms and extensive fields:

I seriously have so much fun on road trips with Seth (aka Manfriend)! We are such goofballs and like to play random games, belt our lungs out, and just have the most ridiculous conversations. The only downside…I have a bladder the size of a pea! At least it makes for some interesting stops 🙂
Well kids, I’m gonna catch up with Sir DVR and a glass of Shriaz:

I’m not watching Jersey Shore
Some dark chocolate:
And cuddle this guy:

QUESTION: What are your vacation tips???? Do you play by ear?? Go overboard??? Or not care at all 🙂

SOMETHING TO DO: Are you on TWITTER?? Follow me here!
G’NIGHT!!!!!! XX

12 thoughts on “>To splurge or not to splurge

  1. >I used to eat whatever I wanted on vacation until one 10-day trip in 2007 to Utah for mountain biking and hiking. I gained, no joke, 7 lbs on one vacation. Good lord! Now I try to exercise every day, even if it's just a half our, or a walk after dinner. =) I agree though, you gotta sample local eats!

  2. >I try to get in alot of activity when I am on vacation. I drink lots of water, focus on fruits and veggies, but if there is something I want to try, I'm not going to deprive myself. I hate feeling stuffed, so I try to not go overboard. I don't drink much anyway, so I'll stick with 1 glass of wine with dinner and thats about it.

  3. >What a lovely looking holiday! Sounds like you had a great time. I try to get a lot of exercise as well when I'm traveling, and I LOVED running on the beach in the Dominican in February. I couldn't normally go for much longer than 30 mins because even by about 8am it was SO hot, but the feeling of the sand and the challenge of a little instability gave me such a great workout. I also try to eat as much fruit and veg as possible, with lean protein.

  4. >Depends on the vacation really. If it's in a place with great weather/beachy, then I usually just want to be active. If it is less so, then I keep to my normal routine.Eating, I usually stick with the same. I eat healthy, but then there are the evening drinks/dessert indulgences. It is vacation after all!

  5. >I LOVE WINE SPRITZERS!!!!! So refreshing! I love me some Baileys too, been forever since I had that!!!SO glad Myrtle Beach was amazing!Thank you for the beautiful comment! Made my day! xoxo

  6. >uhh i watch jersey shore hahaha omg obsessed with that show! its my guilty pleasure!!I have never had a wine spritzer but it sounds delicious!!! on vacation i certainly do not take a vacation from eatnig and exercise, I always try to incorporate exercicse into my day! whether its running outside or something active! I also try NOT to indulge to to much! but of course a bit 🙂

  7. >I can't go overboard anymore, it bothers my stomach too! I have some things I normally wouldn't have, but try to keep it as clean as I can. Too much sugar and no veggies = a cranky Jessica!! 😉

  8. >This post totally spoke to me. I also struggle with how to enjoy my vacations. For me, it's never a real question of gaining weight or not, but I HATE feeling like I have a bowling ball in my tummy. Thanks for the hints on how to keep clean on vaca!

  9. >When I am on vacation, I try to stick to my normal eating plan, as much as I can…usually bring some larabars with me if I can't find oats for breakfast, eat light during the day, and as healthy as poss for din..then splurge on my fav…dessert :-)Working out…eh..I try to stay active, but don't beat myself up for not working out. On my honeymoon, I did get in the gym a few times. When we go to Vegas, no dice..it's like $20. to use the gym, and I'm usually so wiped from all the activity and the time change that I don't do it. So, it depends on where I go..somewhere relaxing, with a lot of time to spare, I will….if it's somewhere fast-paced, that I am always busy, I count the walking around as my activity, and call it me week off from exercise, or few days off, that our bodies need anyway every few months!!!Myrtle looks gorgeous, glad you had a great time!

  10. >When I'm on vacation, I pretty much eat/do the same things. Because I genuinly love running & eating the way I do! Ok, and there's also some added desserts 😀 Mostly because everyone else in eating junk food and it kinda rubs off on you…ya know??And belting out songs in the car is required for a good time 🙂

Leave a comment