>Sure you can cook me an lavish dinner.

>Hey guys, hope you had a nice holiday weekend. For those of you back to work, welcome back. For the lucky rest of you taking off time until New Years, I am envious.

I worked 12.5 hours day – long, I know. I posted on Twitter that I’ve been walking [fast] for the last 12 hours and no matter how many times I do it, it doesn’t get [physically] easier. 8 hour shifts on the unit (I work on a transplant floor of a hospital) go by sooo fast. It’s the last 4 hours that test my perseverance 😉

So now I’m home, cuddled up on the couch with a glass of vino

And patiently waiting while Kels (sister) cooks dinner. Life is good, my friends. Who doesn’t like to be waited on, right? In the meantime, I decided to take some pics of Michael with my new camera

This one cracks me up.
* * * *

Dinner was pretty fantastic. Kelsey’s scallops are to-die-for.

Lightly seasoned with extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, black pepper and tossed with fresh garlic.

Served with red quinoa and roasted asparagus

Quinoa (boil until soft)
1 cup quinoa
2 cups water
1 cup organic chicken broth (can use veggie)
1/4 t cumin
pinch cayenne
sea salt
black pepper
Asparagus
Steam until soft
Toss in diced garlic, evoo, s/p
 Satay until garlic is roasted
Broil 5 mins until crispy

Love.
* * * *

Well I’m off to bed, have to be on the [hospital] floor for 7am! eek. See you tomorrow..

What are your New Years Plans?

What are you looking to most in the new year? 

21 thoughts on “>Sure you can cook me an lavish dinner.

  1. >Oh my, I adore scallops. I bought some last week with the intention of cooking them all and using the second portion for a salad later on in the week, but they disappeared in one night… oops! SO good though! Hope you had a very Merry Christmas girly! 🙂

  2. >That dinner looks fantastic! Thanks for the comment on my blog! I pretty much wrote that out from memory. I did the whole "bring a notebook" but I found it just took a lot of time! Sometimes I will write my workout out before hand and then during the workout I will just cross things off/make adjustments (for a higher/lower weights, etc)Hope that helps!

  3. >I'm back to work too. 😦 Lovely dinner, I've never tried red quinoa, but yours looks wonderful. We have no New Year's plans yet, probably a low-key family gathering or a fun evening of celebrating at home. Next year – many more recipes and fitness goals.

  4. >I think I'll try quinoa that way—mine is pretty boring lately! Do you prefer the red? I've been partial to the white so far, and it seems a little less expensive around here, but I don't know why!

  5. >Oh, those long shifts at the hospital ON MY FEET are difficult for me too! Yesterday especially since I had the prior week off.I'd like to wear a pedometer one day to see actually how many steps I take, because I know it's LOTS of them. Since I am so used to 12 1/2 hour shifts, whenever I only work 8 it feels so easy. Its all in what your used to.Glad your dinner was cooked for you tonight. My husband made mine too 🙂

  6. >Looks like you had a great Christmas! (catching up on your posts). I'm running in a race on New Year's Day, so NYE is going to be low-key. In 2011 looking forward to getting more involved in my blog, opening an Etsy shop, and running more races! 🙂 When are you coming home again?

Leave a comment