>Animal research: What you don’t know

>I’ve been debating posting this topic for some time now because I know it’s near and dear to many hearts. I anticipated many quick judgements and a whole slew of negative posts but decided to roll with it because I think many of you may be misinformed….

The other day, while shopping I came across this gem and without thinking, I said to myself “Ughhh I HATE Peta“.

Now don’t get me wrong, I eat vegan/vegetarian 85% of the time, don’t wear animal fur, and DO support animal rights. What I don’t support is Peta’s interfering with everything if an animal is involved. I find them outright obnoxious, to the point where I can’t take anything they say/do seriously.

Remember this?

PETA called the fly swat an “execution” and wanted the President to show a little more compassion to even the least sympathetic animals. source

Or what about when PETA spent significant amount of money campaigning that Ben and Jerry’s Ice cream should switch to Breast Milk?

* * *

Of all things that bother me about PETA, is their interference on research using animals.

Now before you freakkkk on me, hear me out. There are a few factors you must consider. And I challenge you. For, the best debater knows the other side [and knows it well].

1. I am not referring to the testing of cosmetics, perfumes, etc. I am referring to life-saving drugs such as chemotherapy and antibodies, that treat terminal illnesses like heart disease, cancer, diabetes, Alzheimer’s and save lives.

The astonishing conservation of gene function across vast evolutionary distance has made animal models more useful than we have imagined and probably accelerated biomedical research by decades, if not centuries” – Dr. Nancy Hopkins, professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

2. Most “animal research” is done in fruit flies and zebra fish
Dr. Hopkins’ research using zebrafish has shown that “many of the same genes that cause cancer in humans can also cause cancer when introduced or mutated in fish. And in some instances zebra fish have advantages over mouse models, because fish tumors contain an abnormal number of chromosomes, which is common in human tumors but not mice “. source

3. Every drug on the market (from aspirin to chemotherapy) must be tested before providing to humans because dosing and determining side-effects are crucial. A side effect of unknown concentration is often death, if provided in the incorrect dosage.

There is no way (and correct me if I’m wrong), you would volunteer yourself or a loved one to take a new drug that’s never been tested in a mouse and just “hope for the best”. Your chance of survival, since most drugs are extremely potent until dosing is established, would be extremely slim. In other worlds, a concentration of 1mg of drug X does not equal 1 mg of drug Y, even if the drugs are similar. One could offer no therapeutic benefit while the other could kill you.

4. There is no other alternative [yet]. If there was a way to create an artificial cell that contained functional DNA, RNA, proteins, transcription factors, signaling pathways, organelles (you get the picture), we would use it.

If you can artificially create this (image of ONE cell), you’ll win the next Nobel.

5. Scientists don’t want to test on animals. If your loved one was dying, I’m sure you’d prefer her radioactive drug to be tested in a zebra fish or mouse before her. Scientists are people too. They have hearts and souls. No one LIKES doing animal research, but no one also likes seeing millions of children and adults die each year from terminal diseases.

6. Scientists don’t just put drugs into dogs, monkeys, horses, etc. They start with single CELLS.

Here’s how it goes:


A scientist wants to test drug X (a new chemo drug) to see A) if it works and B) if it kills the right cells (cancer cells and not healthy cells). The scientist first adds drug X to a variety of cancer and healthy cell lines, each grown in a separate petridishes.

Cancer cells growing in flasks

If the results are statistically significant, the scientist would move onto other cell lines. If those results were good he/she might look at the drug in fish. If those results look good he/she might design a mouse study, then a rat study, etc. The chances of a drug getting past a rat model are very slim, because there are many safeguards in place, numerous regulations surrounding the ethical treatment of animals, and for the simple fact that most new trials fail before moving past the mouse phase (i.e. don’t yield good data).

7. There are numerous safeguards, laws, regulations, committees, etc. that work closely with all research institutions to insure the safety and well being on animals while fostering the continued growth of biomedical research. For example, mice undergoing surgery as part of a study are subjected to the same pain-reducing measures applied to humans (anesthesia, etc.)

* * *

So what am I trying to accomplish by posting this? I didn’t mean to turn this into a “I hate Peta campaign“, because I know they do some good things. I wish other pro-animal rights groups that are in existence (there are MANY, just only known to the science-world) would come into the public eye so Peta wasn’t the only one making “news” headlines. Because there are a lot of great groups out there, ones that work closely with scientists generating groundbreaking research.

Still have questions? 
Does any of this surprise you? 
If you are still against all animal research, would you refuse a life-saving drug? 



25 thoughts on “>Animal research: What you don’t know

  1. >I'm glad you decided to publish this post. I appreciate PETA's zeal, but I agree that a lot of what they do is misguided. Until someone at PETA develops a life-saving treatment (because I'm not buying their suggested alternatives), my money will continue to go to research centers with proven track records, animal testing and all.I really don't want to make this a PETA bash session (because I think that avoiding animal products is one of the best things we can do for the planet), but sometimes I wonder if they have legitimately evaluated the alternatives to not testing on animals.

  2. >Thanks for posting this. I normally wouldn't comment because like you I don't want to get a shit-storm of hate mail. However, I feel the same as you. PETA is out of control.I have two cats. We are getting a dog. My heart BREAKS at the idea of animals being hurt or killed. 😦 I was a vegetarian for 12 years mainly for the animal aspect. But at the same time I also believe in science. I believe in stem cell research. I believe in medicine (when it helps and not hurts). I wonder if the PETA people are against medicine when they get cancer? Do they not get treatment because it was probably tested on animals?I don't think there's a right or wrong answer. Everyone can believe what they want. I just wish people would stop pushing their values on each other. Keep your religion, etc to yourself!By the way, I want to eat REAL Ben and Jerry's ice cream thank you very much! 🙂

  3. >I think this is a great post and should not be looked at as controversial at all. You are providing facts, not just opinions. I have to just laugh at their campaigns, breast milk in ice cream? Doesn't that sound like the start of cannibalism? And what happens if someone gets a headache? I'd be willing to bet that they take something over the counter. We need animal research. At this point it isnt an option in the growth of science.

  4. >My view on PETA is that they are outrageous precisely so that they do get that kind of coverage. I don't like their militant views, and at times I disagree, but I have to say that they do bring issues to the table that many animal rights organizations don't. My example being is that them being militant about ALL animal research is a way to get mainstream society more educated and uncomfortable with the idea of makeup manufacturers using animal testing. And the breast milk for Ben & Jerry's is a (kinda gross) way to point out that maybe we shouldn't be ingesting so much RGBH.I don't wear fur, but I have leather handbags and shoes. I'm trying a January challenge to transition to vegetarianism. And I am against animal testing when it comes to my makeup and cosmetic accessories. When it comes to drugs … well, I can't say that I am entirely comfortable with the idea, but I also realize the necessity, and would not turn down a life-saving treatment for myself. 🙂

  5. >i'm glad that you published this too. i can obviously tell that you're passionate about this but in a rational way. unlike peta. i agree with carly that lots of what they do is over the top to be in the public eye. good intentions i like to think but attention seeking nonetheless.i don't think i'd refuse a life saving drug. especially since i'm not 100% animal testing free right now. i'm interested in being a doctor and saving lives. i know that it's not a comfort to animal lovers out there but i'm not against testing on animals. especially since i know firsthand (having worked in scientific/medical studies) to know that it's not "let's cause the animal total harm and torture them". everywhere i've work has been as humane as possible.

  6. >you've got it chica! i'm just saying.. if ingrid (president of PETA) newkirk's parent or child was in need of one of these life saving drugs, would she deny it to them because the drug had been tested on animals? how is THAT humane?

  7. >Girlll, lovin' this. Although I eat meat, I LOVE the idea of free-range/organic/etc. I think PETA, while it can have great intentions, can be a bit (a lot) "in your face." Thanks for the education on animal research! I was quite uneducated 😉

  8. >Great post! I agree with you about PETA. I support animals' rights, but the fly thing was kind of ridiculous. It seems like sometimes PETA just wants attention more than anything else.

  9. >Ditto everything that's been said. Well written, well-researched, and well-represented. GREAT post!I have the same thoughts as you – from the initial "ugh, I hate PETA, to all the science stuff. Big surprise, I know. 😉

  10. >Thanks for writing this post! It's great! 🙂 I'm an animal rights person, but acknowledge that PETA do go too far sometimes. I actually didn't know a lot of those facts about animal testing! Anyway, hope you don't get any hate mail or anything for this! :/

  11. >Great post, Lauren. And yes, Ingrid Newkirk has been asked if her child had AIDS and there was a cure, would she give it? To which she responded "not if it was tested on a rat." She's also been asked if there was a puppy and a human infant in the road and she had to hit one, which would it be? To which she responded "I don't know." She's "donated" her torso to be roasted on a spit, because she says that humans should be roasted if pigs are, and she will be skinned upon death so that she can be tanned into leather to make a wallet. Finally — she was quoted as saying "Thank God for that morphine" after she broke her ankle. Really? Where was that morphine tested before it got to you, Ingrid? Same with the immunizations I'm sure her and her children have had.Speaking as someone who has been involved in a fair share of animal research, theres often MORE guidelines and rules regarding the treatment of the animals involved in studies than there is for humans. Any properly licensed institution is following pages upon pages of rules and regulations — PETA needs to focus efforts on those who aren't and stop the attack on people who are working to better the world.

  12. >This is such a contraversial topic and I'm glad you posted about it. I think oftentimes people (PETA & activists of the same stature) are very concerned of the well being of animals. I can understand that, really I do. BUT if people spent as much time in doing research on an alternative testing mechanism that they do on critisizing others things might change.It's hard to listen to groups who complain, it's like listening to the teacher from Charlie Brown. However, if a group decided to not yell at someone for running their tests and said let's think of a way for them to change it and proposed that, I'd be behind them 110%! I love animals, don't get me wrong and it is cruel to test on them. But like you said, I'm not volunteering myself/family/pet to do the testing for them.

  13. >I love that you laid this out in a no-nonsense way, Lauren! As a fellow scientist-turned-practitioner, I think these facts are knowledge that we take for granted (…i.e. not a lot of people know all of the work that goes into testing drugs/chemicals as in vivo cell culture experiemtns before even considering an in vivo animal model experiment). Thanks for posting this!

  14. >Great post. I feel exactly the same way- there's a huge difference between testing your mascara on a mouse, and testing something that could potentially SAVE LIVES. PETA is out of control. I love animals and would never want to harm them, but I don't think it's doing animals OR humans good to waste effort on things like fly swatting when there's so much animal AND human abuse.

  15. >I think the question you ask at the end is exactly the right one: "would you refuse a life-saving medication?" It's hard to think about animals being harmed, but I don't think testing cosmetics and testing animals are on the same level, especially since, as you point out, the medication has to pass several gates before animal testing is done.One thing that bothers me about PETA is their stance against animals as pets. You could argue I have no right to make this claim, but my animals seem pretty happy to me! I don't think Frankie would agree that I am his evil oppressor, or he wouldn't be purring on my lap on a daily basis.

  16. >Great post from a science/medical perspective, it's really informative! My thesis was using some computer modeling to hopefully predict dosage to reduce testing but believe me as one who was studying the computational models… I don't think anyone wants to be relying on those 😉 .

  17. >This is really important! I agree with you in so many ways– many scientific discoveries and human health benefits would have been lost without animal testing. What we must do is challenge ourselves as scientists to appreciate the sacrifice the animals make for our health and also pursue research in a way that is not harmful or disrespectful to the animal. In this way, science can proceed in a relatively 'moral' direction while still aiming for discovery.

  18. >amen! i'm a huge animal lover and mostly vegetarian whose dream was to become a veterinarian for crying out loud and i can't take peta seriously either. they would protest outside the osu veterinary labs and i would get so annoyed. "my" research dogs for a canine cardiology project were so spoiled that they refused the healthy treats thanks to me (oops) and couldn't wait to run on the treadmills. they were treated with more compassion than many of the pet dogs in this country (my experiences in a small animal clinic and shelters proved that to me) AND these dogs were helping to test drugs that could help humans and dogs in heart failure! i wish that there were always alternatives to animals in research, but until there are all i ask is that the lab animals are treated with kindness. they are giving their lives to help us and that must be appreciated.

  19. >Thanks so much for this post! Truthfully, I haven't given animal testing much thought, except: "that's bad." I loved hearing your thoughts, from a scientific viewpoint. Definitely made me think!

  20. >I completely agree with you! I work in a neuroscience lab where we require rats to do much of our research. It breaks my heart every time we have to anesthetize one or sacrifice a baby rat. However, I also have learned that animal models are the best models we have for the human nervous system in terms of ethical research. Drosophila is a great model in some cases, but when we need to study the brain we unfortunately need mammals in most cases. I am hopeful that someday in the future we will discover a new way of doing science which doesn't require animal models, but for now this is what we have. It's better than the alternative of making no progress in science. =) PS. great post!

  21. >@RuneatrepeatThe point I believe they were making was that when we think of using breast milk, the response is "ew, no way", yet we drink milk from cows without even blinking. Also, no offense, but what do you think cows milk is intended for? (since you are saying human's would waste their breast milk)

Leave a comment