>Will you be my Valentine?

>Happy Valentine’s Day ❤ Today marks hospital shift #6. That means two more to go before we head to Myrtle Beach! Rediously excited doesn’t even describe how pumped I am for this trip. My parents have a beach house so I generally join them for a weekend getaway 2-3 times per year. Free place on the beach? Sign me up!

This year we’re heading down to run the Dasani Half Marathon. Yep, we’re running it – me, my mom, and dad.
Now don’t assume I come from a long line of marathoners; both started running them in their 50’s! How cool, right? My dad was a runner in his twenties and thirties but stopped due to knee pain. Wanting to get back into shape, they started walking together (our neighborhood, a 3-mile loop) then gradually increased to 13 miles and now do a walk/run. Pretty amazing, huh?
Moral of the story? It’s never too late to get into shape and add years (literally) to your life! I’m not saying you need to urge loved ones to start running half marathons. [Almost] everyone has the ability to get up and get walking!
* * *
Last night after my grueling tiring 13-hr shift, I came home to a home filled with good food, and these two lovely ladies. I’ve joked before that my sister is the turkey sandwich master. No lie, if there was a continuous supply of turkey sandwich supplies the girl would eat them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for several months before getting sick of them. She offered to “cook” us a meal which turned into an “Order-it-your-way” turkey sand party. Can’t say I was too upset!
A few varieties….
Sticking to my 30-day challenge, I had a toasted bagel thin with all-natural turkey (most deli meat contains “fillers”, artificial flavoring, and preservatives so choose an all-natural variety), tomato, lettuce, avocado, and Trader Joe’s whole grain spicy mustard. We enjoyed these along with a veggie platter, pita chips, and fresh hummus.
To contribute, I made these bad babies…
Skinny strawberry [all-natural] frozen margaritas
Clear tequila
splash triple sec (I found an all natural brand!)
frozen organic strawberries
teeny splash fresh lime juice
stevia (1 packet per serving)
splash h20
ice

Never a dull moment with these girls ❤

* * *

This morning I woke to 66F sunshine! It was so nice I enjoyed my breakfast on the desk and basked in the sun.

Raspberry-Vanilla-Canteloupe Green Protein Smoothie
1 scoop Vanilla protein powder (SunWarrior brand)
cantaloupe
frozen raspberries
frozen banana
hand full fresh spinach
stevia, pinch sea salt
water
ice
* * *
 
Please help! I desperately need a new half marathon playlist. Tell me your favorite workout song! Thanks a million 🙂

12 thoughts on “>Will you be my Valentine?

  1. >Oh my gosh, wasn't today beautiful?! Warm weather, please don't go !It's so neat that your family runs together! I'm sure you're going to have a blast in Myrtle Beach.And when you find some free time, can we please celebrate being neighbors over skinny margaritas?

  2. >Thats such a great family activity! I'm even more impressed that they picked up running at a later age than if they'd been doing it their whole lives. Have a great time at the beach!

  3. >I've been enjoying running to a lot of Eminem (especially "Shake That") and Black Eyed Peas.My brother in law was going to run that Myrtle beach half, but his deployment date got moved up and he can't go. I hope it's fun!

  4. >I'm loving Florence & The Machine …dog days are over or drumming song are good. I also LOVE Jimmy Eat World – Bleed American and Pain have a great tempo if you're looking to go fast.

  5. >I need new music too! But here is my current playlist – maybe it will be new to you! Hopefully you like top 40 hiphop and college party music haha…Black and yellow by wiz khalifa, stero love (molella remix) by edward maya, we no speak americano by yolanda be cool, whos that chick by david guetta, bass down low by dev and the cataracts, whip my hair by willow, club love remix by the cataracts, we r who we r by kesha, check it out by will.i.am, the time by black eyed peas, and MY CURRENT FAVE: Tonight (Im lovin you) by enriqueeeee!

  6. >Wow that is so awesome that both of your parents are participating in the half! That is such an awesome thing. Wasn't the weather amazing on the east coast?! It is only supposed to warm up and I can't wait!

Leave a comment