>Snack attack

>Tggggggggggif, people I’m not working this weekend and I am p-u-m-p-e-d. Saturday we have a lil girls night out planned and I can hardly contain my excitement. Speaking of excitement, I’ve never been so excited to go grocery shopping in my liiiiiiiife. You guessed it, I stiiiil haven’t gone to the dang store. I assure you however, I am still eating. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks for your comments yesterday on how to get this girl to bed earlier. I made it to bed at 2am and not 3. Baby steps, people. Baby steps. Speaking of staying up late, I’m a huuuge late-night snacker. I don’t believe in the “don’t eat after 8 rule” but I do try to keep my snackage to a healthy level (late night greasy pizza doesn’t leave me feeling good the next morning). I like to wake feeling hungry because breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.

Some recent late-night snacks..

100-calorie (all-natural) popcorn with cinnamon and stevia
 (Shake popcorn, 1/2 t cinnamon, 1 serving stevia in large freezer bag)
1 cup fat-free Greek yogurt w/ stevia and 1/4 cup GoLean Crunch
Decaf coffee w/ steamed almond milk/soy
 True coffee lover. I’ll even take the decaf โค
PB2

PB2 is a de-fatted peanut flour and when you add water it creates a delicious peanutty spread. 2 tablespoons = 45 calories. Not to shabby. Don’t get me wrong, I still love traditional peanut butter in and add it to many foods as a healthy source of fat, but when you’re in the mood to snack on a massive amount of pb, this stuff is your best friend. I like it for apple/carrot dipping, mixed into oats/yogurt or thickly topped over toast.

Just whisk with water according to directions…

Then spoon back into jar

PB2 over toasted cinnamon-raisin Ezekiel bread
* * *
So you may have guessed it. I feel off the 30-day challenge bandwagon. I think I was a little too ambitious with this one. Especially considering the challenge started right at the beginning of my vacation (not good planning on my end). I aimed to cut out all dairy, artificial dyes/colors/preservatives and only eat organic meat (you can read about my reasoning for the challenge here). Myrtle Beach isn’t the healthiest place on Earth, so if presented with Greek yogurt or sugar-loaded granola bar, I opted for the protein-packed dairy. 
So where do I go from here? I’m not quitting the challenge just making small changes. I’ve decided to challenge myself to eat clean (still nothing artificial) but allow myself organic dairy (not cheese! since that’s what really bothers my stomach) and then assess my migraine situation after the 30-days. If my headaches calm down a bit from the clean eating, I don’t see why I can’t keep my beloved Greek yogurt in my life. We shall see.
* * *
OK kids, have a great rest of your Friday! Stay tuned (tomorrow) for a heavy post  on emotional and disordered eating.


What are your favorite late-night snacks?

Do you believe in the “Don’t eat after 8 rule?”

Ever quit/modified a food challenge/detox?


*Don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY!! I’m choosing a random winner (tomorrow) Saturday evening!*


17 thoughts on “>Snack attack

  1. >I definitely don't follow the don't eat after 8 thing. However, I am an old lady and go to bed super early some nights and eat the early bird special dinner. Basically it's whatever fits in with the schedule of the day.Love that popcorn idea!

  2. >i've just recently added a bit of dairy back in to my meal plans (though I never gave up the GREEK) and have noticed more sinus headaches and allergy type symptoms… thinking I shall take a week off and see if the symptoms repsond.. hard though when I am veganish and don't eat most meat. While i understand the science behind the don't eat after 8 rule… I suck at trying to follow it!!! my favorite "late night" snack cereal… it's my comfort food

  3. >I eat after 8 all the time. The only time I don't is if I'm in bed by 8 :)My favorite late night snack is chocolate (but I call it dessert, so that makes it better, right?)

  4. >Amen to snacking! I have a soon-before-bed snack most nights. That's just how I function. How do you like PB2? How does it compare to Trader Joe's peanut flour? I was debating buying either that or protein plus peanut flour online when I discovered that Trader Joe's discontinued theirs and ended up buying the peanut flour. (Pretty identical to TJ's if you're looking for a replacement)

  5. >Oh yum, I need to try that with the bag of Trader Joe's peanut flour in my pantry! And the popcorn sounds great too. I'm not a huge late-night snacker, I have to get up so early for work and sometimes do not sleep well after eating.Maybe a little in the rule, but everyone is different. For me, I like to be hungry for my breakfast smoothie before heading to work.Sure, I've shifted a lot when I went high-raw vegan and am always toying with the raw percentage depending on my cravings and weather.

  6. >i have found that my clean eating plan has been working MUCH better with a little room for leeway. I am eating lots of fruits, veggies, fats, meats, and a few minimally processed things here and there and some homemade baked goods. For example, tonight I had Whole Foods pizza and one of their cupcakes. I think they're both made with relatively real foods, and I have had my fair share of veggies this week. Balance. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. >Lately I've been making more of an effort not to stop eating late, but to only eat certain foods late. My body can handle things like dry cereal, veggies, fruits, toast, etc- but I was finding that if I gave into my sweet tooth, I had crazy dreams. I'm sleeping much better than ever when I limit the sugar before bedtime!!

  8. >ah I've been dying for a PB2 giveaway (that I win of course). I want to try it so bad! I am a muncher so I usually feast until about 8 but I go to bed early, too. there isn't anything wrong with eating at night just as long as you eat less during the day. all research that indicates that late night eaters are heavier is based on people who eat a normal amount of food during the day then eat additional food late at night- not people who eat a normal amount of food across the entire span of 24 hours

Leave a comment