>I’m bacckkkkk

>Hi friends! I am quite relaxed after a nice lil vacay from all forms of communication. Well, not all forms – I haven’t had a phone for 4 days now and to be honest, I have a been loving and hating it all at the same time. I’ve relyed on the phone application in Gmail when I’ve needed to make a call and Verizon’s website for free texting. <—Good tools to know!

This morning I went for a leisurely walk with the pup and usually I’d be checking my phone, calling friends/family, texting, Tweeting – you get the picture. Without my lil friend, I was able to really enjoy the walk, soak up the sun, and be present. Next time you’re out of a walk, jog, etc. leave it home. You have a voicemail for a reason 🙂

So what have I been up to for the last few days? Well I’ve…

Worked…..quite a bit .
Shopped….quite a bit (mostly for food and other boring things. Well food is fun but it’s no clothes)
Rested (!). Got 11 hours of sleep last night!
– Squeezed in some good workouts, including a long run (8.5) miles today
– Am sticking to my “I will lift more” promise

And best of all: Have had a blastttttt with my friends!

Here are a few pics from Saturday night.

(hehehe)
We ate at my favorite Thai restaurant, Mai Thai (affordable, trendy, and deeeeelish food) and enjoyed a few cocktails. I rolled with champagne while the rest savored their signature Mai Thai’s. Pretty tasty, but a liiiiitle too sweet for me.
Thai and Japanese are my favorite food genres before a night of dancing. No one feels particularly comfortable dancing the night away with a belly full-o-Mexican or Italian (or perhaps that’s just me). 
The weather was ahhhhamzing. We went to a local bar in Dupont Circle and danced the night away on their gorgeous rooftop
Spring is just around the corner…
 I can feel it!
* * *
With the arrival of this gorgeous weather, I’ve been craving cold breakfasts in place of my usual protein oats, pancakes, cupcakes, etc. Two very quick meals that I love to make are:
#1 Chilled overnight oats
Combine and stir:
1/3 cup cooked oats
1 serving protein powder (*see below)
1/2 c fresh or frozen fruit
1/4 c milk of choice (almond, soy, hemp, low-fat, etc.)
sweetener (1 serving, I prefer stevia or Truvia)
teeeny pinch sea salt
Spoon into glass/mug and throw in fridge
Next morning:
Add 1 t chia seeds and/or crushed nuts (walnuts, almonds) for crunch

Enjoy!
And quick breakfast #2 (I make this one when I have 0.25 seconds of time to spare the night before)
Yogurt & fruit bowl

Night before combine & refrigerate:
1 cup fat-free Greek yogurt
1/2 cup frozen fruit 
sweetener (1 serving stevia or Truiva)
Next morning:
Stir & add 1 t chia seeds for crunch and healthy omega fatty acids
*Attention SunWarrior Protein loverssssss*: The other day I ordered a new bag of vanilla SunWarrior protein from a company called Vitacost.com (was very pleased with price and quick shipping, btw). To my surprise the goods arrived in a shiny gold bag, quite different than the bags I’ve grown accustomed to. 
VS.
Since I was younger and heard about ‘food tampering’ I’ve always been super weary of questionable packaging. For some reason this new bag plus its press on nutritional info labels kind of freaked me out and I was unsure if I actually ordered a legitimate SunWarrior product. Plus the scoop was 1/2 the size of the traditional one
So being the nut-job that I am, I sent a quick email to SunWarrior.
Hello,

I recently ordered your vanilla protein through a company called Vitacost (http://www.vitacost.com/) and my protein came in a shiny gold bag. The green product labels were stuck onto the bag (in a professional way) rather than printed on the bag, like your green bags. Do you know whether I ordered a legitimate SunWarrior product? I am nervous to try it. Also, on the packaging it says one serving equals 1 scoop; however, the scoop is 1/2 the size of the traditional one. Does this mean one serving is actually two scoops?

And I received the following response:


Hi Lauren,


Yes, those bags are legitimate. We are upgrading to a stronger bag, and these stronger gold bags are temporary until our stronger printed bags arrive. The new scoop is the correct serving size. The old scoops were too big. I hope this helps.


Thank you,


Jennifer

This means I’ve been getting 2X as much protein as you thought. To think of it, there are 47 servings per bag and I don’t recall my bags everrrrr lasting that long. I don’t have a problem with the extra serving, but this stuff is a lil pricy so I will be cutting back to the true serving size.
* * *
In completely random news, I’m in lurrrrve with Black Cherry Berry Tea (with a splash of almond milk)
Aaaaand, I can eat Chop’t salads any day of the week…
* * *
Alright kidds, I’m off to BodyPump! Have a great night everyone ❤

18 thoughts on “>I’m bacckkkkk

  1. >So good to know it was real sun warrior you got,, always better safe than sorry!!! I wonder if thats the bag I will get then, I just ordered some last week! I love Mai thai, that place is awesome!!!!! Yay for girls nights! so fun!!

  2. >Phew I thought you were going to say something about the way it's processed (being bad) or that the product you got was a fake. Glad that's not the case. Thanks for the update 🙂

  3. >That's crazy about the sunwarrior! Funny, I ordered it from vitacost a month ago (one vanilla and one chocolate)…and the chocolate one had a "leak" in the bottom of the bag (it was the old style bag). I thought the scoop looked a little smaller in those recent bags….but now I don't know! I wonder if I'm doubling my protein and not knowing it?! I use one scoop a day (usually). Now I need to investigate!Thanks for the info 🙂

  4. >Trying your pizza tonight, will let you know how it tastes. It looks delicious. Wow that's interesting about Sun Warrior, I think I must be taking too much of it too, I use the full scoop as a serving.Great blog!

  5. >It was smart to ask! And its interesting that their serving scoop was wrong before. That gets me a little annoyed at protein scoops in general.

  6. >I actually knew that the scoop was off, because I measured the weight in grams once and it was a little over half the scoop. Kind of annoying, don't you think? Not a huge deal, but you'd think that if a serving size is "one scoop" they'd make the scoop the right size…That black cherry berry tea sounds delicious, must find some!!

  7. >Good for you! It feels great sometimes to just get lost in a weekend and not think about other obligations/daily tasks. I had a similar hiatus due to busy work/school and just having a good old time with friends.

  8. >Ohhh girl I totally understand your concern about the protein powder – it's so awesome they emailed you back!I used to be super crazy about proper food packaging when I was a kid because I used to watch shows about it all the time. I inspected not only my halloween candy but my sister's too! I wouldn't even drink milk or any other bottled beverage unless I was the one to break the seal. Luckily, I grew out of that phase, but I'm still a little obsessive at times. When traveling to foreign countries I only drink sparkling water so I know it's not tap!

  9. >First things First..I had a blast with you on Saturday too! Maybe one of the best! Second of all..can't wait for you to get a phone. And third of all… I am so glad you let us know about the Sun Warrior. That is way more protein than we thought we were all getting. Last but not least..miss you!

Leave a comment